Stan Honey - Photo by Jon Nash

Stan Honey - Photo by Jon Nash

Stan Honey (2016)

The American sailor and navigator, Stan Honey, has been awarded the 2016 Magnus 'Mange' Olsson Prize. As a navigator Stan Honey achieved tremendous success and holds a unique position in the sailing world.  But above all, as a positive person and great team player much appreciated by everyone, he is not unlike Magnus Olsson.

Honey’s track record includes a victory in the Volvo Ocean Race and eleven wins in Transpac races across the Pacific Ocean.  As navigator he holds the speed record for sailing around the World, and across the Atlantic and Pacific Oceans.

- I was stunned when I heard about the Magnus Olsson Prize. Mange, Torben, and Ben are three of the sailors that I most look up to.  I have had the pleasure of racing with Torben and Ben, and racing against Mange, and feel honoured to be mentioned on the same page as all of them, comments Stan Honey and continues:

- Mange was unique in the sport and would light up any room with his smile and contagious laughter. I only sailed against him a few times but he made me feel like on old friend and always had time to chat and joke. 

However, Honey is not just a successful sailor and navigator with an impressive CV. The 61-year-old engineer has honours and masters degrees from Yale and Stanford universities, respectively, and he has won three Emmy Awards for his work in visualising sport on TV.

- Stan really is a world-class sailor. As a navigator he was the decisive influence behind some big victories. And, like Mange, he had the ability to lift the team beyond their own expectations, says Carl-Henric Svanberg, Chairman of the Magnus Olsson Memorial Foundation.



British sailor Ben Ainslie has been awarded the Magnus 'Mange' Olsson Prize for his long and successful career in sailing. Ainslie, one of the best sailors ever, will be the second international sailor to receive the Prize, which will be awarded at a Ceremony in Gothenburg on June 26.

Magnus was a sailor who everyone looked up to and admired. His reputation was as a true great of the sport who embodied an amazing spirit for sailing. I am very honoured to receive this award and to help work with the Magnus Olsson Memorial Foundation to support and encourage the next generation of young sailors, says Ben Ainslie.

Sir Charles Benedict "Ben" Ainslie was born February 5, 1977 in Macclesfield, UK. His track record in different dinghy classes is impressive. Ainslie is the most successful sailor in Olympics after reaching the podium at five consecutive Olympic Games from 1996-2012. In 1996 he won the silver medal in Laser and at the following four Games he won the gold medal. Following his gold medal in the Laser class at the 2000 Olympics in Sydney, he then changed to the Finn class and took three consecutive gold medals in the Olympics 2004-2012. He has won gold at six World Cups in the Finn and four World Cup medals in the Laser.

Ainslie is the only person who has been awarded ISAF World Sailor of the Year four times and in 2010 he finished in first place in the World Match Racing Tour. In September 2013 he joined as a tactician during an Oracle practice session and the following day, he replaced John Kostecki going into race six of the 2013 Americas Cup. Oracle Team USA defended the America's Cup by a score of 9 to 8 against New Zealand. Now stepping into a new role, as Skipper and Team Principal of Ben Ainslie Racing, Ben will develop and lead a British entry into the 35th America’s Cup, with the aim of bringing the Cup back to Britain where it all began in 1851.

Sir Ben Ainslie is a true champion. His ongoing dedication and love of the sport of sailing helps to grow the sport and makes a positive difference for many young people. It will be an honor to welcome him to Gothenburg, says Carl-Henric Svanberg, Chairman of the Magnus Olsson Memorial Foundation.


Torben Grael (2014)

The inaugural winner of the award is Torben Grael - one of the world's most accomplished sailors.

This year’s international winner, Torben Grael (BRA), is 53 years old and has won five Olympic medals (Gold Athens 2004, Gold Atlanta 1996, Silver Los Angeles 1984, Bronze Sydney 2000 and Bronze Seoul 1988). He won the 2008/09 Volvo Ocean Race as skipper of Ericsson 4 and he has also won with Prada Luna Rossa the Louis Vuitton Cup (Challenger Series for the America's Cup).